School Logo

Meet the Governors

‘Senior leaders, including governors, have successfully built upon the outcomes of the previous inspection,  particularly in raising the quality of teaching and the curriculum.’  

Ofsted, September 2011 

Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

The role of the governing body is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher


Our Governors

Our current Governing body is made up as follows:




Appointed Term ends Other information
Mrs Pauline Aitken Associate 04/01/2021 04/01/2025  
Mr Mark Ellis Co-opted 16/09/2016 15/09/2020  
Mr David Lemon Co-opted 01/04/2019 31/03/2023  
Dr Alan Norley Local authority 01/05/2019 30/04/2023 Chair
Mr Spencer Phillips Co-opted 22/03/2019 21/03/2023  
Mrs Sam Simpson Parent 23/11/2018 22/11/2022  
Mrs Paula Thorne Parent 09/11/2020
Mr Roger Spicer Foundation 28/09/2017 26/11/2021 Vice-chair
Mrs Sue Sweet Headteacher N/A N/A ex-officio
Mr John Counsell Foundation 24/07/2020
Mrs Carrie Page Co-opted


All of our governors attend Full Governing Board (FGB) meetings which take place five times a year.  In addition to this governors have a link to individual classes and sit on one or more of the following sub committees:


  • Education
  • Finance, Buildings and Grounds
  • Pastoral


Our Committees

Membership of these committees is currently as follows:



Finance, Buildings

and Grounds

Mrs Pauline Aitken   X X
Mr Mark Ellis   X  
Mr David Lemon X    
Dr Alan Norley X X  
Mr Spencer Phillips Chair    
Mrs Sam Simpson     Chair
Mrs Paula Thorne      
Mr Roger Spicer   Chair  
Mrs Sue Sweet X X X
Mr John Counsell X    
Mrs Carrie Page     X


Our Classes

Our linked classes for the year 2020/21 are as follows:

Year Class Teacher Link Governor
Reception Windsor Miss Sercombe  
Year One Potter Mrs Higginson Mrs Pauline Aitken
Year Two Nightingale Mrs Pantaney Mr Spencer Phillips
Year Three Attenborough Miss Hirst Dr Alan Norley
Year Four Holmes Mr Roberts Mr Roger Spicer
Year Five Brunel Mrs Dorman Mr Mark Ellis
Year Six Darwin Mr Lemon Mrs Sam Simpson


Our Roles

Some of our Governors have specific responsibilities for statutory duties such as Safeguarding, SEND and Health and Safety. The current responsibilities are:


Role Governor (Clerk)
Chair Dr Alan Norley
Vice-chair Mr Roger Spicer
Clerk Mrs Jacqui Wapshott
SEND Governor Dr Alan Norley
H&S Governor Mr Mark Ellis
Safeguarding (inc. Child Protection) Mr Roger Spicer
Mental Health and Wellbeing Mrs Sam Simpson


If you are interested in becoming a school governor, please speak to one of the existing governors or get in contact with the school.

Governor Register of Interests, Responsibilities, Terms and Attendance